Resource guides: Journals and databases: Health and general Databases

Accessing the online resources

The Vision Australia Library subscribes to professional journals and magazines to facilitate evidence-based and to enable staff to engage in ongoing professional development.

Journals and databases should connect automatically, but may require you to log in with your Library username and password

Please contact refserv@visionaustralia.org if you don't know your details or have trouble connecting.

Health Databases

Better Health Channel
Consumer health information. Quality assured by the Victorian Government Department of Health. Approved by independent health and medical experts.
CINAHL Ultimate
CINAHL Ultimate is the new definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text for more of the most used journals in the CINAHL index than any other database.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Authoritative site for open source journals (may be useful for finding journals which do no require a VA login)

HealthDirect
An easy to search gateway to a wide range of up-to-date and reliable information and advice on health and well-being with an Australian focus. HealthDirect is a National information services funded by the Commonwealth and State governments
MedlinePlus
Health information from the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Easy access to information about conditions and wellness issues in language you can understand.
The Conversation
The Conversation is an independent source of information, analysis and commentary from the university and research sector, written by acknowledged experts. The Conversation is based in Melbourne, and wholly owned by The Conversation Media Trust, a not-for-profit company.
Searches for topics such as blindness, bionic eye, not-for-profit, fundraising, glaucoma, bring up current topical conversations about these issues.

General databases for research and information

Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS)
The Statistics section of the Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) website gives you access to the full range of ABS statistical and reference information. Everything on the ABS website is accessible free of charge.
Australian Standards online
For log in information please go to Australian Standards in The Hub at thehub.visionaustralia.org/resources/reference-library
The Conversation
The Conversation is an independent source of information, analysis and commentary from the university and research sector, written by acknowledged experts. The Conversation is based in Melbourne, and wholly owned by The Conversation Media Trust, a not-for-profit company.
Searches for topics such as blindness, bionic eye, not-for-profit, fundraising, glaucoma, bring up current topical conversations about these issues.
Trove
National Library of Australia database providing the locations for books, journals, newspapers, pictures held in Libraries around Australia.

Reference and Information Service

Email: refserv@visionaustralia.org

Phone: 1800 364 656

Address: 454 Glenferrie Road, Kooyong, Vic, 3144

Help guides

CINAHL tutorials and help guides

Document Delivery / Inter-library loans

If you can't locate full text for journal articles or the library doesn't have a book you need, please fill in one of the copyright forms below and email it to refserv@visionaustralia.org

ILL single item Copyright form
Copyright form for single item request
ILL multiple item - Copyright form
Copyright form for multiple item request